[fixed] OpenGL problem
[fixed] OpenGL problem
Hello,
I have problems with OpenGL:
Some demos doesn't work correctly (shows 1 frame per 30-40 sec.).
Buggy demos:
- 02.Quake3Map.exe
- 04.Movement.exe
- 07.Collision.exe
- 08.SpecialFx.exe
- 13.RenderToTexture.exe
My system:
CPU - Celeron 2.4 GHz
MotherBoard - ASUS p4p800-x
RAM - 512 MB
Video - ATI Radeon 9550 128mb
Audio - Creative SB Audigy SE
WinXP Pro SP2
ATI Catalyst 8.5
// sorry for my poor english
I have problems with OpenGL:
Some demos doesn't work correctly (shows 1 frame per 30-40 sec.).
Buggy demos:
- 02.Quake3Map.exe
- 04.Movement.exe
- 07.Collision.exe
- 08.SpecialFx.exe
- 13.RenderToTexture.exe
My system:
CPU - Celeron 2.4 GHz
MotherBoard - ASUS p4p800-x
RAM - 512 MB
Video - ATI Radeon 9550 128mb
Audio - Creative SB Audigy SE
WinXP Pro SP2
ATI Catalyst 8.5
// sorry for my poor english
-
- Admin
- Posts: 14143
- Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
- Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
- Contact:
Could you please post the output on the console (Irrlicht version, OpenGL version etc) when running one of those slow examples? We did test the version on a dozen systems before making the release, and no one saw this problem. But since many people seem to be affected I guess that there are drivers which claim to be OpenGL 2.0 without supporting all the features...
If you can recompile the library please try to change line 421 in COpenGLExtensionHandler to return only the FeatureAvailable boolean. This should cure the symptom.
If you can recompile the library please try to change line 421 in COpenGLExtensionHandler to return only the FeatureAvailable boolean. This should cure the symptom.
Could you be a little more specific? I am using the SVN and I see nothing to do with FeatureAvailable[] around line 421. I am guessing that line is in the place in Irrlicht 1.4.1.If you can recompile the library please try to change line 421 in COpenGLExtensionHandler to return only the FeatureAvailable boolean. This should cure the symptom.
TheQuestion = 2B || !2B
Sadly, I can't test just now, my computer that is affected (the old one with the old card
) is virus infected up to the neck and has been for 2-3 days now, so it's off until I have a day or 2 to clean it. And I can't test on any of my other comps, they don't have the probs, having either more recent cards or way older ones.
-Edit after Halifax's answer-
This was a reply to hybrid
I brought the bug up a while ago and for that matter, probably should have documented and offered a patch for it...

-Edit after Halifax's answer-
This was a reply to hybrid

Last edited by Dorth on Fri Jun 06, 2008 4:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
Could you please post the output on the console
Code: Select all
Irrlicht Engine version 1.4.1
Microsoft Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2 (Build 2600)
Using renderer: OpenGL 2.1.7537
ATI Radeon 9550 / X1050 Series: ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL driver version is 1.2 or better.
GLSL version: 1.3
Loaded shader: scripts/common.shader for scripts/common.shader
Loaded shader: scripts/models.shader for scripts/models.shader
Loaded shader: scripts/e7.shader for textures/e7/e7walldesign01b
Loaded texture: textures/e7/e7walldesign01b.jpg
Loaded texture: textures/e7/e7steptop2.jpg
Loaded texture: textures/e7/e7dimfloor.jpg
Loaded texture: textures/e7/e7brickfloor01.jpg
Loaded texture: textures/e7/e7bmtrim.jpg
Loaded texture: textures/e7/e7sbrickfloor.jpg
Loaded texture: textures/e7/e7brnmetal.jpg
Loaded texture: textures/e7/e7beam02_red.jpg
Loaded texture: textures/e7/e7swindow.jpg
Loaded texture: textures/e7/e7bigwall.jpg
Loaded texture: textures/e7/e7panelwood.jpg
Loaded texture: textures/e7/e7beam01.jpg
Loaded texture: textures/gothic_floor/xstepborder5.jpg
Loaded texture: textures/liquids/lavahell.jpg
Loaded texture: textures/e7/e7steptop.jpg
Loaded texture: textures/gothic_trim/metalblackwave01.jpg
Loaded texture: textures/stone/pjrock1.jpg
Loaded texture: models/mapobjects/timlamp/timlamp.tga
Loaded shader: scripts/sfx.shader for textures/sfx/flame1side
Loaded texture: models/mapobjects/gratelamp/gratetorch2.jpg
Loaded texture: models/mapobjects/gratelamp/gratetorch2b.tga
Loaded mesh: 20kdm2.bsp
Needed 35ms to create OctTree SceneNode.(456 nodes, 10684 polys)
PS: The same demo from version 1.4 works well.
I have this problem only with 1.4.1
BIG thanks, it works.If you can recompile the library please try to change line 421 in COpenGLExtensionHandler to return only the FeatureAvailable boolean. This should cure the symptom.
-
- Admin
- Posts: 14143
- Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
- Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
- Contact:
Damn it, this really sucks. As said, OpenGL 2.x requires support for the NPOT extension. But it doesn't have to be supported in hardware. And ATI cards got several reports about bad NPOT hardware support - grrr. However, it's nice that they don't expose the NPOT extension string. So we might have to publish a 1.4.2 very soon 
