More playing around with Giles+My3d

Announce new projects or updates of Irrlicht Engine related tools, games, and applications.
Also check the Wiki

More playing around with Giles+My3d

Postby afecelis » Wed May 11, 2005 5:15 pm

afecelis
Admin
 
Posts: 3075
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Colombia

Postby mohaps » Wed May 11, 2005 5:29 pm

nice work... any comparable shots with CShop5 Beta????
---
Saurav Mohapatra
author, artist and bona fide geek

web: http://www.mohaps.com
email: mohaps AT gmail DOT com
mohaps
 
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 1:54 pm
Location: Shrewsbury MA

Postby afecelis » Wed May 11, 2005 5:33 pm

thnx mohaps. Unfortunately, no since the level was model-based desgined and not brush-based. I modeled it in 3dsmax, exported as 3ds, placed lights in Giles and exported to My3d.

I also noticed latest version of Giles includes a terrain creation plugin that should be interesting to try out.

I'll try to get it into cshop as well for comparison :D
afecelis
Admin
 
Posts: 3075
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Colombia

Postby MikeR » Wed May 11, 2005 6:18 pm

Afecelis, that looks great. :)
runs off to see about giles upgrade
decides to walk instead. :D
If it exists in the real world, it can be created in 3d

Sys specs:
AMD 3700+ 64 processor
1.0 gb ram
e-Geforce 6600 graphics 256 mb onboard ram
MikeR
 
Posts: 767
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Northern California USA

Postby afecelis » Wed May 11, 2005 7:48 pm

thnx MikeR! I hope to make it grow a bit more, Improve the terrain and get some water zones somewhere as well as some outdoor-indoor transitions all based on that sort of "pointy" architecture :D
afecelis
Admin
 
Posts: 3075
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Colombia

Growing!

Postby afecelis » Thu May 12, 2005 3:10 am

Hey guys!

I started to make the level bigger, generating a corridor with some arches and spiky columns, but the bigger the level gets, the more difficult it is to make proper lightmaps. Gotta study the program some more, so the shot is only to show the change in size.

Image
afecelis
Admin
 
Posts: 3075
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Colombia

Postby MikeR » Thu May 12, 2005 3:33 am

What program are you modeling that in?
It's looking great.

OH, and you might want to change the size of the lightmap. The default is rather small.
If it exists in the real world, it can be created in 3d

Sys specs:
AMD 3700+ 64 processor
1.0 gb ram
e-Geforce 6600 graphics 256 mb onboard ram
MikeR
 
Posts: 767
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Northern California USA

Postby afecelis » Thu May 12, 2005 3:42 am

I model in 3dsmax. And yup, just noticed I was using 128x128 lightmaps; just brought it up to 1024. But I think I overburned the map in green, hahahah :D

more testing more testing
afecelis
Admin
 
Posts: 3075
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Colombia


Postby cmoibenlepro » Thu May 12, 2005 4:01 pm

GREAT! Image
cmoibenlepro
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 3:18 pm
Location: Canada

Postby bal » Thu May 12, 2005 6:04 pm

Looks really smooth. Nice work.
General Tools List
General FAQ
System: AMD Barton 2600+, 512MB, 9600XT 256MB, WinXP + FC3
bal
 
Posts: 829
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 5:19 pm
Location: Geluwe, Belgium

Postby MikeR » Thu May 12, 2005 7:45 pm

Your doing great. Can't wait to see the finished product. :)
If it exists in the real world, it can be created in 3d

Sys specs:
AMD 3700+ 64 processor
1.0 gb ram
e-Geforce 6600 graphics 256 mb onboard ram
MikeR
 
Posts: 767
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Northern California USA

Postby afecelis » Fri May 13, 2005 12:13 am

thnx Benoit, Mike and bal :D

@MikeR: I still dunno what the final product is :oops: :oops:

I just add stuff to what I've started creating before. Let's see what comes up tonight. :D

the good thing is that it gave Mohaps some ideas for a level we want to design.
afecelis
Admin
 
Posts: 3075
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Colombia

Postby afecelis » Fri May 13, 2005 1:47 am

hehehe, just arrived home and re-took the level in max. so far this is what's crossing my mind:

Image

let's see how things go in Giles :D

edited: mmmhhh, I just noticed it's beginning to look like a nice play to deathmatch in, hehehehe
afecelis
Admin
 
Posts: 3075
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Colombia

Postby MikeR » Fri May 13, 2005 2:18 am

Yes it does. :D
If it exists in the real world, it can be created in 3d

Sys specs:
AMD 3700+ 64 processor
1.0 gb ram
e-Geforce 6600 graphics 256 mb onboard ram
MikeR
 
Posts: 767
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Northern California USA

Next

Return to Project Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest