Castle Walker

Announce new projects or updates of Irrlicht Engine related tools, games, and applications.
Also check the Wiki
greenya
Posts: 1012
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 1:46 pm
Location: Ukraine
Contact:

Castle Walker

Post by greenya »

Hello all!

Found some time to finally finish this project: a demo of the Temple of Trials (from Fallout 2). It has 3 parts, initially i was planing to make 5, but finished only 3 (made in 3d max). There is no FPS camera and it moves by the predefined path. Indeed Irrlicht hasn't good build-in ability (as for me) to move camera like in-demo. FollowSplineAnimator makes it possible for some part only, because if you attach it to camera it still will look at 1 position. So a figured out this next way: i created 2 empty scene nodes and 2 follow spline animators, and each frame i update camera's position (vector3df) and its target (vector3df) by position of these empty scene nodes. No shakes as you can see (if you download). Good for me :)

Use conf file to configurate app.

Hotkeys: none.

Download from here: http://irrlicht.at.ua/load/0-0-0-1-20 (5.4 Mb)

Screenshots:

Image

Image

Image

P.S.: all the light is embedded into textures as originally calculated by 3d max, so you see only the mesh and textures. Each mesh has lightning turned off. AND yes, shadows should shake since it is fire bowl and torches, but they doesn't ... that the pity of course.

Thank you!
pera
Posts: 460
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 1:05 pm
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Contact:

Post by pera »

really good modeling.
greenya
Posts: 1012
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 1:46 pm
Location: Ukraine
Contact:

Post by greenya »

Thanks, pera.

I have uploaded source code here: http://irrlicht.at.ua/load/0-0-0-2-20 (17.3 Kb).

ZIP contains only c++ source code and vs2005 sln and vcproj files (no conf file and data folder).
To compile it do next:
- copy data folder and conf file inside;
- forWindows/vs2005: open sln and setup path to Irrlicht.lib and Irrlicht' header files in project settings, also copy Irrlicht.dll 1.6.1 to output folder.
- forNonWindows: comment out #define GAME_WIN32 in ff/graphics/GameGlobals.h; that should be enough, but i haven't compiled it on linux personally.
- if you want to get FPS camera and other dev-stuff i used -- comment out #define DEMO_MODE in CastleWalker/main.cpp; use SPACE to switch FPS camera control.
pera
Posts: 460
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 1:05 pm
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Contact:

Post by pera »

what are you making this for?
greenya
Posts: 1012
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 1:46 pm
Location: Ukraine
Contact:

Post by greenya »

Just for fun.
C++ is a hobby for me, since i code C# on my job.
Also I like to model some scene (hobby).
:roll:
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Which mesh format is used by Fallout2?
sp00n
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 9:39 am

Post by sp00n »

hybrid wrote:Which mesh format is used by Fallout2?
lol, no meshes, just bitmaps was used in Fallout2 :)
this meshes are created by the art style of Fallout2
keep the good way, greenya
PI
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 7:15 pm
Location: Hungary

Post by PI »

Nice one!
AND yes, shadows should shake since it is fire bowl and torches, but they doesn't ... that the pity of course.
How about... enabling lighting on the mesh, use the Lightmap+Lighting material, putting lights where the torches are (or where more of them in a room, put only one to the center of the room), and randomly move them?
greenya
Posts: 1012
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 1:46 pm
Location: Ukraine
Contact:

Post by greenya »

hybrid wrote:Which mesh format is used by Fallout2?
Fallout 1 and 2 has the same-level graphics: 2D isometric, sprites, hex grid, 640x480x8bit only mode; here is in-game screenshot and the Temple of Trials itself: http://www.gamershell.com/static/screen ... 7_full.jpg

Fallout 3 is fully 3D game with high-end graphics made by Bethesda Softworks; screens are all over the internet just google "fallout 3 screenshot".
lostclimategames
Posts: 331
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 4:11 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Post by lostclimategames »

wow, i saw the first screen and immediately thought... beginning of fallout.... then i saw your avatar. :D
___________________________
For all of your 3D/2D resource needs:
Image
arras
Posts: 1622
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 8:35 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Post by arras »

Temple of Trials in 3D! :) ...can you perhaps populate it with some radscorpions, giant ants and mutated rats? :) ...and few raised plates with sharpened poles fired from wall on top of it? :) ...chest or two with antidote and healing herbs would be nice too :)

...just been bit sentimental ;) Nice work.
Last edited by arras on Wed Feb 24, 2010 8:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
pera
Posts: 460
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 1:05 pm
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Contact:

Post by pera »

I can populate it with rats and chests with my Level Editor! :)

Image

I loaded model in my level editor and it works fine, added few ants and rats and your ready to play :) Hey I even had ant description saying: "Ant is first enemy in fallout 2".

I could make it playable level, but i still don't have combat system created, so no fighting ants. You could only chat with them...
arras
Posts: 1622
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 8:35 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Post by arras »

Nice :)

Are they actually controlled by some sort of AI or they are static?
pera
Posts: 460
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 1:05 pm
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Contact:

Post by pera »

Static, no AI at all.
AI will be one of the most advanced ever made:

If(distancefromPlayer < 4)
{
moveToPlayer();
attack();
{
arras
Posts: 1622
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 8:35 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Post by arras »

Well, if you do:

If(distancefromPlayer < 4)
{
moveToPlayer();
attack();
}
else
{
moveTo(randomX, randomY);
}

then you have simple Fallout 2 AI in place :) ...in Temple that is :)
Post Reply