Page 3 of 6

Posted: Wed Aug 29, 2007 10:34 am
by lukrop
first of all: very nice work :shock: :)

but, i've got problems with the bluring demos, im running gentoo linux and if i compile the motion blur demo for example i just see a black screen, if i compile the radial blur example there are some small colored lines to the center of the window, maybe i compile it wrong...

Code: Select all

g++ *.h *.cpp -lIrrlicht -lpng -ljpeg -lGL -lGLU -lXxf86vm -lXext -lX11 -o main
the bloom demo works excellent...

regards

Posted: Wed Aug 29, 2007 12:12 pm
by hybrid
Don't compile headers and don't link against libpng nad libjpeg. But if compiling would be a problem the compiler would have told you. It's usually a problem with shader support.

Posted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 11:57 am
by Nadro
Good Work:) It's very good stuff:)

Posted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 12:37 pm
by gammaray
TGM, did you happen to test the shader code with latest Irrlicht SVN? I'm having difficulties to get it running on 1.4alpha. If you could take a look on the problem, I'd be grateful:) Anyway, keep up the good work:)

Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 5:59 pm
by TheGameMaker
first of all: I´m sorry for not answering that long.. Had some problems with Inet, and since I got a lot of tests and stuff in school I got not that much time for programming games..
@paooolino
Thats a true problem.. I´m not shure hwo to fix it, but I think its because RenderToTexture doesn´t use antialiasing..
About the SVN thingy: Unfortunably I´m not in Programming games at the moment, (as I already said) and I´m afraid I will not find time to test it. sry...
But they should work with any version of Irrlicht.. (at least the shadercode itself)
greetz TGM

Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 5:32 pm
by bitplane
Tested on 1.4a today after changing the opengl render target flipping stuff.

Lava has a missing constructor in the callback, resulting in huge values for "time" when not compiled in debug mode. As far as I can see, all the others look fine :)

Nice shaders there, I specially like glass and lava ones. Does sio2's glass shader have the wall problem?

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 1:34 pm
by TheGameMaker
I never tried sios one.. But it is possible to get rid of it (with irrspintz I think..) all you would have to do would be to access the zBuffer.. (argl.. why can´t irrlicht do that??)

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 9:40 pm
by omaremad
Irrlicht has half complete renderbuffer code for depth textures(only 1 geometry transform is needed), pm me for the complete code, i only coded it in opengl though.

Posted: Sat Sep 29, 2007 6:02 pm
by Cutler001
Hi, I have just converted first of the effects to the irrlicht.net CP with c#.I have just the blur effect, but more will come.Here is first screenshot.

http://bp3.blogger.com/_yVpaUefhY4k/Rv6 ... h/blur.JPG

Posted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 5:10 am
by jingquan
Hello TGM,

do you have any similar shaders in hlsl? Perhaps there's a tool that converts glsl to hlsl. Could anyone guide me on this. Thanks.

Posted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 4:30 pm
by TheGameMaker
nope.. unfortunably not. (neither, nor)
There are two problems about HLSL
1) I'm not able to use it (well, that could be changed..)
2) I don' like it^^

so well, maybe you could programm your game using ogl, and everyone would be happy (especially Linux users^^)
I thing a few of them has been converted to HLSL, but not all..
There is no way to convert HLSL to GLSL that simple... sry..

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 6:46 am
by Virion
2) I don' like it^^
lol a good reason indeed. :p
so well, maybe you could programm your game using ogl, and everyone would be happy (especially Linux users^^)
yeap I'll be happy too. ^^ (linux user)

Posted: Mon Oct 29, 2007 11:01 am
by belfegor
Virion wrote:lol a good reason indeed. :p
And what is that reason?
Whats wrong with HLSL?

Posted: Tue Oct 30, 2007 5:01 am
by BlindSide
Its easy to convert HLSL to GLSL, but not the other way round. This is because GLSL has certain programming features not present in HLSL (Though Im not sure which because I am more familiar with HLSL)

Anyway its really not that hard to convert this shader though..

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 6:55 am
by paddy
Hi TGM !

I'm also impressed by your shaders and wanted to use the Bloom shader
in my little solar system simulation. I'm workin' on 2 different pc's... my
desktop one has no problem to draw your FX but my notebook only shows
the following screenshot (for every example in your package):

Image

the graphiccard is capable of RTT etc. I don't know where the problem is
(looked via Everest Home through the OpenGL capabilities and all of them are
supported)... OpenGL Version is 1.4 20.00.01i

I also pn'ed you @Irrlicht3D German Community Forum, would be nice
to talk a bit via icq. :)

many greets
paddy