.NET Wrapper or Irrlicht .NET CP? See last post by me...

Irrlicht.Net is no longer developed or supported, Irrlicht.Net Cross Platform is a much more complete wrapper. Please ask your C# related questions on their forums first.
LennardF1989

.NET Wrapper or Irrlicht .NET CP? See last post by me...

Post by LennardF1989 »

Hi all,

I'm Lennard Fonteijn from the Netherlands and I'm a quite advanced programmer in a lot of languages (also web)... Though, since I only have a little developers experience, I want to join such a project.

That project only uses a Q3 Engine, which is just old and quite hard to understand and manipulate. So, I have to confince them that Irrlicht is better to handle (spawning objects, levels, etc... We just have to write some kind of scripting language), anyway, I got a couple of questions about Irrlichts doings.

Here he goes:
- When I load a BSP map (from Q3), can IL already parse codes like spawnpoints and triggers (ie: for doors), or do I have to parse that on my own (which means that IL only parses the level)?
- Is it possible to make models solid, so the can't go through other models (like in a BSP level)?
- Is it possible to determine if a model gets hit by something, and also the place of impact?

Also, I've been also experimenting with Irrlicht, that's how I came up with these questions. Because when I spawned a model in a BSP map and moved it around it could walk through other spawned object, which means nothnig is really solid.

Also, I couldnt really think of a way to determine if a model got hit...

Best regards,
Lennard Fonteijn

Ps. If someone has an answer and also knows a way to do it, then hes description (it doesnt have to real detailed) on it will be welcome.
Last edited by LennardF1989 on Thu Jun 14, 2007 10:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Yes, I'm writing a VB.NET GameEngine based upon Irrlicht... So what?
Dances

Re: BSP/Model question... Solid models?

Post by Dances »

LennardF1989 wrote:Hi all,