1.8.4 04.Movement example bug on big endian

You discovered a bug in the engine, and you are sure that it is not a problem of your code? Just post it in here. Please read the bug posting guidelines first.

1.8.4 04.Movement example bug on big endian

Postby kas1e » Mon Feb 12, 2018 2:25 pm

Just noticed today on big endian machine , that example 0.4Movement , where sphere in center, cube rotate around, and ninja walk , have a bug:

Irrlicht Engine version 1.8.4
Resizing window (640 480)
Loaded texture: irrlicht-1.8.4/media/wall.bmp
Loaded texture: irrlicht-1.8.4/media/t351sml.jpg
Could not open file of texture:
Could not open file of texture:
Loaded mesh: ../../media/ninja.b3d
Loaded texture: irrlicht-1.8.4/media/irrlichtlogoalpha2.tga


And visually, Ninja have no texture, just white:

http://kas1e.mikendezign.com/aos4/irrli ... nt_bug.JPG

For sake of test test 1.5.2 version of IrrLicht : there is all fine.

As can be seen there empty field after words "could not open file of texture", that about "nskinbl.jpg" , which name i assume didn't extracted correctly from ninja.b3d now.

But in version 1.5.2 it all works fine, so seems something else was changed in b3d loading which can cause this.
Last edited by kas1e on Mon Feb 12, 2018 8:20 pm, edited 3 times in total.
kas1e
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 8:39 am

Re: 1.8.4 04.Movement example bug

Postby chronologicaldot » Mon Feb 12, 2018 4:50 pm

Assuming this example gives you a driver choice, which driver has the bug?
User avatar
chronologicaldot
Competition winner
 
Posts: 560
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 8:51 am

Re: 1.8.4 04.Movement example bug

Postby kas1e » Mon Feb 12, 2018 5:58 pm

@chronologicaldot
Ops sorry, Its again on big endian :( That happens on any driver and it's about media/nskinbl.jpg texture loading (which name seems taken from media/ninja.b3d).

On ppc i have that output:

Could not open file of texture:
Could not open file of texture:

I.e. without "nskinbl.jpg" file name. Which mean that name even didn't extracted, so can't be loaded.

Probably it can be b3d loader. Through, in the version 1.5.2 all works fine. Which mean that since 1.5.2 version in the CB3DMeshFileLoader.cpp was done some changes which make it didn't works fully right now. I see there a lot of "ifdefs big endian", but seems something was changed since 1.5.2 in.
kas1e
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 8:39 am


Return to Bug reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest