Commands of War RTS project -beginner looking for volunteers

Announce new projects or updates of Irrlicht Engine related tools, games, and applications.
Also check the Wiki
Zanman777

Commands of War RTS project -beginner looking for volunteers

Post by Zanman777 »

Hello, everyone!

I'm a novice C++ programmer and I started recently to dive into the world of game programming. After a lot of research and self-teaching, I found out about Irrlicht, and tried to get familiarised with this API. The main motivator for all this is an idea for a Real Time Strategy game I have in mind.

The name of the project is Commands of War. It will be an open source Real Time Tactics/Strategy game heavily based upon Soldiers:Heroes of WW2, Faces of War, Men of War, etc (the saga from Best Way Entertainment). For who doesn't know the games I'm talking about, their most important features are:

- the absence of resource management and unit creation (limited amount of units are available from the start to the end of each scenario);
- the heavily tactical aspect of the game, with virtually every object and wall on the game providing an interaction interface for soldiers to take cover on/kneel/hide;
- the "destructibility" of the whole scenario (buildings, walls, etc can all be shattered by grenades and tank shells, changing the scenario and forcing new tactical decisions).

Commands of War shall embrace these interesting features of the Best Way games, providing however a striped-down open-source alternative, with lower system requirements, and focusing mainly on gameplay. Many ideas for features and enhancements are "planned", like:

- a new unit management system, where each selected unit is assigned a number (1, 2, 3...) and each assigned order is given to one unit at a time; all units move at the same time to their positions only after the last unit is assigned an order (this makes tactical planning and playing a lot more fun and easier).