Mesh Combiner

Announce new projects or updates of Irrlicht Engine related tools, games, and applications.
Also check the Wiki

Re: Mesh Combiner

Postby Kuzy » Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:05 am

Thank you very much Ducky, I will try.

For now I'm going in holiday for one week :D , but after that I'll give you a feedback.
Kuzy
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:30 am

Re: Mesh Combiner

Postby Lonesome Ducky » Fri Aug 19, 2011 9:22 pm

Alright, I'm thinking of changing the mesh combiner a bit. I think I want to make it just a mesh class derived from IMesh, so it can have more functionality. I can then more easily allow adding in other objects afterwards, and even transforming objects that are already in the mesh. Does this sound like a good idea?
User avatar
Lonesome Ducky
Competition winner
 
Posts: 1123
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 11:14 pm

Re: Mesh Combiner

Postby Brainsaw » Sat Aug 20, 2011 5:52 am

This is a good idea for sure. An IrrEdit plugin would be cool in that case. Otherwise I might write a scenenode (and plugin) that does combine all it's children to a single mesh, without any special new functions.
Dustbin::Games on the web: https://www.dustbin-online.de/

Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
Brainsaw
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:57 pm
Location: Bavaria

Re: Mesh Combiner

Postby sodandk » Mon Aug 22, 2011 11:09 am

Wierd... when I use the MeshCombiner in debug mode its fine, and when I run it in release mode from inside VS, its fine...
but when I run it in releasemode and an exe... it crashes...
any clues...?
User avatar
sodandk
Competition winner
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 11:58 am

Re: Mesh Combiner

Postby mongoose7 » Mon Aug 22, 2011 12:47 pm

Are you sure you're running the same executable inside and outside of VS? And, if you are, are you in the same directory both times. VS probably sets the CWD to the current directory, whereas the executable is probably in 'Release'. So, it is not able to find a file and, well, I guess ... you are not checking the return value. Dereferencing a null pointer usually results in a GPF.
mongoose7
 
Posts: 1227
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 12:13 pm

Re: Mesh Combiner

Postby sodandk » Mon Aug 22, 2011 3:34 pm

it find and loads the model and textures just fine... and if I dont use the combiner, also runs fine... but as soon I use the combiner, it dies...
User avatar
sodandk
Competition winner
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 11:58 am

Re: Mesh Combiner

Postby sodandk » Mon Aug 22, 2011 6:56 pm

in the function 'CMeshCombiner::packTextures'... one of the last lines... says:
cpp Code: Select all
  delete [] occupied;

that line goes BOOM in releasemode...
User avatar
sodandk
Competition winner
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 11:58 am

Re: Mesh Combiner - problem solved!

Postby Kuzy » Mon Aug 29, 2011 3:13 pm

Hello Ducky and Mongoose,

I now have solved my problem with the lighting...
You were right, my normals were not correct. I changed my mesh and corrected the normals. As you expected you have no error in your combiner :-)
Thank you for your help. It gave me the right clue.

Kuzy
Kuzy
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:30 am

Re: Mesh Combiner

Postby Lonesome Ducky » Wed Aug 31, 2011 4:59 pm

Good to hear you got it working, hopefully the performance boost is enough
User avatar
Lonesome Ducky
Competition winner
 
Posts: 1123
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 11:14 pm

Re: Mesh Combiner

Postby hungryninja » Sat Oct 01, 2011 3:12 am

I want to make a minecraft-like game, but without the random map generation, in VB.NET.
1) Could you please give me the code that allows you to add and remove meshes?
2) For the minecraft-like graphics, do I need to split the pixels into multiple meshes?
3) Can I do the different textures for the sides of the cube without splitting the cube into individual squares? Should I do this?

Thanks.
hungryninja
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:13 am

Re: Mesh Combiner

Postby Lonesome Ducky » Sat Oct 01, 2011 5:19 am

Removing is not part of the current functionality, but should be trivial to add. I'd encourage you to look at the mesh combiner code and modify it to better suit what you need. As is, my mesh combiner will not work well for a minecraft clone. It strength lies in one time creation of a static mesh, not being constantly modified. It could serve as a starting point to make something more modifiable, though.
User avatar
Lonesome Ducky
Competition winner
 
Posts: 1123
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 11:14 pm

Re: Mesh Combiner

Postby hungryninja » Sun Oct 02, 2011 5:06 am

Yeah. I get your point and I don't want to convert 700 lines of code to VB.NET, but don't want to use C++.
hungryninja
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:13 am

Re: Mesh Combiner

Postby serengeor » Sun Oct 02, 2011 8:23 am

hungryninja wrote:Yeah. I get your point and I don't want to convert 700 lines of code to VB.NET, but don't want to use C++.

Aren't you supposed just to make a 'wrapper' on top of c++ code?
Working on game: Marrbles (Currently stopped).
User avatar
serengeor
 
Posts: 1712
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 7:34 pm
Location: Lithuania

Re: Mesh Combiner

Postby Lonesome Ducky » Sun Oct 02, 2011 3:44 pm

hungryninja wrote:Yeah. I get your point and I don't want to convert 700 lines of code to VB.NET, but don't want to use C++.


I don't know what you want then. If you want me to write it for you, I'm not going to.
User avatar
Lonesome Ducky
Competition winner
 
Posts: 1123
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 11:14 pm

Re: Mesh Combiner

Postby hungryninja » Mon Oct 03, 2011 10:44 pm

still, I want to know how to do the minecraft pixel graphics.
hungryninja
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:13 am

PreviousNext

Return to Project Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest