Mesh Combiner

Announce new projects or updates of Irrlicht Engine related tools, games, and applications.
Also check the Wiki

Postby serengeor » Wed Apr 27, 2011 1:19 pm

Lonesome Ducky wrote:Ok, here's the updated code. It doesn't completely get rid of black lines, but it makes them far less noticeable. I think the black lines are inevitable with a texture atlas.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4241114/NewMeshCombiner.zip

Thanks, I'll try it out soon (bad tummy ache, can't concentrate at all :| ).
Working on game: Marrbles (Currently stopped).
User avatar
serengeor
 
Posts: 1712
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 7:34 pm
Location: Lithuania

Postby serengeor » Wed Apr 27, 2011 5:28 pm

Okay, I've just tried it out, and now it looks even worse:

Image

also the fps is down a lot, from ~2100 to ~1400

sticking to the version with black lines looks more attractive.
Working on game: Marrbles (Currently stopped).
User avatar
serengeor
 
Posts: 1712
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 7:34 pm
Location: Lithuania

Postby Lonesome Ducky » Wed Apr 27, 2011 9:17 pm

It being cut off is because your camera doesn't have a high enough far value I think. But from what's visible, it seems to look much better. Try messing with the lodbias value it sets for the material too to prevent it from looking so sharp.
User avatar
Lonesome Ducky
Competition winner
 
Posts: 1123
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 11:14 pm

Postby serengeor » Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:44 am

Lonesome Ducky wrote:It being cut off is because your camera doesn't have a high enough far value I think. But from what's visible, it seems to look much better. Try messing with the lodbias value it sets for the material too to prevent it from looking so sharp.


It doesn't look better at all when in motion, If I move cam it looks like its a TV noise effect just in more colors, and as I said the fps is a lot lower :?

what about not using texture atlases?
Working on game: Marrbles (Currently stopped).
User avatar
serengeor
 
Posts: 1712
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 7:34 pm
Location: Lithuania

Postby Lonesome Ducky » Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:56 pm

The fact that it's so sharp is an effect of the LODBias change. Find it in the combine code and either delete it or make it a smaller value. As for not using a texture atlas, it's not really an option :lol: Without it, I'd have to switch textures on the graphics card and could not batch the meshes, defeating the speedup of the class.
User avatar
Lonesome Ducky
Competition winner
 
Posts: 1123
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 11:14 pm

Postby serengeor » Thu Apr 28, 2011 1:29 pm

tried -10000,-1000,-100,-10,-8,-1,-0.1,-0.01,1,8,10,100,1000,10000 and without any. All looked the same to me :/
Working on game: Marrbles (Currently stopped).
User avatar
serengeor
 
Posts: 1712
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 7:34 pm
Location: Lithuania

Postby Lonesome Ducky » Thu Apr 28, 2011 1:50 pm

Hmm, beyond that the code shouldn't be doing anything to make the texture look so sharp. Could you perhaps try it with the original test project and see if it causes the same problem? Here's what it looks like for me: http://i117.photobucket.com/albums/o73/Azail/view.png
Tried with all renderers and I can't reproduce the effect you're having.
User avatar
Lonesome Ducky
Competition winner
 
Posts: 1123
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 11:14 pm

Postby serengeor » Thu Apr 28, 2011 2:57 pm

Here's what I've got from that sample with your textures:
Image

It looks better when different textures are used, though when I use the old texture in that sample the output looks kind of the same as before.

I think I could get away with this using some kind of post processing :)
Working on game: Marrbles (Currently stopped).
User avatar
serengeor
 
Posts: 1712
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 7:34 pm
Location: Lithuania

Postby Max_Eden » Fri May 06, 2011 9:40 am

Nice baking machine! Thanks a lot..
BUUUUUUT!
Looks like it doesn't works with some meshes.
It turns my pretty garden
Image
into this
Image
Here is example
http://www.mediafire.com/file/d6krs6hgcqmkba7/Broken%20Mesh%20Combiner.zip
User avatar
Max_Eden
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 2:57 pm

Postby Brainsaw » Mon May 23, 2011 6:20 am

Hi,

first of all: nice project, gives a real performance boost in my case. I tried to integrate it into my RandomForestGenerator demo project yesterday, and it shifts the framerate from 13 to about 180 by combining 1010 trees into 1 mesh. I just have a Z-Buffer problem (I guess). Here's an image:

Image

The trees are all about equal in size, and they are shown in the wrong order. OK, the image doesn't show the problem that well, so I uploaded a zip file to show the problem:

http://bulletbyte.de/download/combine_problem.zip

I hope someone can help. Otherwise I'd have to write my own Combiner ;)
Dustbin::Games on the web: https://www.dustbin-online.de/

Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
Brainsaw
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:57 pm
Location: Bavaria

Postby REDDemon » Mon May 23, 2011 6:47 am

shouldn't this be a Material problem? certain materials requires Z sorting of nodes before rendering. I think it will work correctly only using meshes wich have just the same material with different textures. And will not work for materials that requires Z sorting.
Junior Irrlicht Developer.
Real value in social networks is not about "increasing" number of followers, but about getting in touch with Amazing people.
- by Me
User avatar
REDDemon
Developer
 
Posts: 1044
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 8:06 pm
Location: Genova (Italy)

Postby hybrid » Mon May 23, 2011 7:32 am

Use the ALPHA_REF material for leaves, otherwise you will get these problems. Meshes are not sorted internally, so rendering in the wrong order can happen in huge meshes.
hybrid
Admin
 
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany

Postby Brainsaw » Tue May 24, 2011 5:53 am

hybrid wrote:Use the ALPHA_REF material for leaves, otherwise you will get these problems. Meshes are not sorted internally, so rendering in the wrong order can happen in huge meshes.


That change fixed it. I'm still impressed with the performance boost, I have updated my RandomForest plugin demo. I hope it's OK that I included the snippet in the code and download version.

Now I think I'll go my "normal way": wrap this code up in a scene node and create a plugin for IrrEdit. I prefer to have as much as possible configurable from the editor instead of the actual code.
Dustbin::Games on the web: https://www.dustbin-online.de/

Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
Brainsaw
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:57 pm
Location: Bavaria

Postby Lonesome Ducky » Sun Jun 26, 2011 3:27 am

A month later, sure! It's no problem to use it in your code download. I wrote this code to help people, not for recognition; so if it helps you help people, that's even better!
User avatar
Lonesome Ducky
Competition winner
 
Posts: 1123
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 11:14 pm

Postby serengeor » Sun Jun 26, 2011 10:00 am

Lonesome Ducky wrote:A month later, sure! It's no problem to use it in your code download. I wrote this code to help people, not for recognition; so if it helps you help people, that's even better!

Heh, I made my own combiner using your's just that mines doesn't use texture atlas and thus I don't have any more of those mip map glitches :)
Working on game: Marrbles (Currently stopped).
User avatar
serengeor
 
Posts: 1712
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 7:34 pm
Location: Lithuania

PreviousNext

Return to Project Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest