IrrODE - an Irrlicht - ODE wrapper (now with SVN)

Announce new projects or updates of Irrlicht Engine related tools, games, and applications.
Also check the Wiki
Post Reply
ulao
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 2:13 am

Post by ulao »

I can upload or host anythign you like, the Irr files is nothing but the assets are huge. Can you use an irr with out them? All the code does is load the irr file.
Last edited by ulao on Sat Jun 13, 2009 2:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
Brainsaw
Posts: 1176
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:57 pm
Location: Bavaria

Post by Brainsaw »

Hello,

I downloaded your irr file and set up a project to play around with it. It seems (strange thing) that ODE does not set the position of the heightfield, it always asumes that it is located at (0,0,0), even if a different location is passed. I'll have to dig deeper into it. If you transform your scene so that the terrain is at (0,0,0) it should work. If it doesn't I can upload the project I created within the next days. I hope this helps.
Dustbin::Games on the web: https://www.dustbin-online.de/

Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
ulao
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 2:13 am

Post by ulao »

Yes that does work, I would be very interest in seeing tins resolved as moving my terrain brakes my code. Let me know if I can help in any way. Also if you dont have the time to look in to this please let me know. I could also find something else to work on.. thx!

I wonder is it all static objects or just terrains.
Brainsaw
Posts: 1176
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:57 pm
Location: Bavaria

Post by Brainsaw »

It seems to be terrains only. The IrrOdeCar demo uses some static object (the ramps for the car and the pad for the helicopter) and this works fine. I just had an idea on my way to work and will try to investigate that within the next days (as soon as I find time for that).
Dustbin::Games on the web: https://www.dustbin-online.de/

Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
Brainsaw
Posts: 1176
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:57 pm
Location: Bavaria

Post by Brainsaw »

@ulao: I got it. The terrain does now work even if it isn't located at (0,0,0). The problem was not in the terrain generation (where I searched the past days) but in the getHeight callback. You can download a demo with your .irr file and some other media at bulletbyte.de/download/ulao.zip, and I just updated and uploaded the irrOde package.
Dustbin::Games on the web: https://www.dustbin-online.de/

Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
ulao
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 2:13 am

Post by ulao »

Brainsaw wrote:@ulao: I got it. The terrain does now work even if it isn't located at (0,0,0). The problem was not in the terrain generation (where I searched the past days) but in the getHeight callback. You can download a demo with your .irr file and some other media at bulletbyte.de/download/ulao.zip, and I just updated and uploaded the irrOde package.
NICE!!! But I dont need the ulao.zip, right? Nothing special there just prof of concept? As long as I get the latest it should work? Will I still need to do a build, or do you have the lib in there now, ok either way for me I can rebuild.
Brainsaw
Posts: 1176
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:57 pm
Location: Bavaria

Post by Brainsaw »

yes ... no you don't need the ulao.zip, I just uploaded it as proof ... I'll remove it in a few days I guess. I built the whole thing, and (if I didn't forget to copy it ;) ) there is an IrrOde.lib for VC users (as well as an IrrOde.a for gcc users).
Dustbin::Games on the web: https://www.dustbin-online.de/

Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
buhatkj
Posts: 444
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:53 am
Contact:

new terrain code works well

Post by buhatkj »

heya, thanks for the updates brainsaw, the new terrain code works nicely.
My irrlicht-based projects have gone underground for now, but if you want, check out my webcomic instead! http://brokenboomerang.net
ulao
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 2:13 am

Post by ulao »

Hmm ok ,thats fixed!!!

but there is also a problem with scale.. er, I think ?


See file here.

http://spawnlinux.dyndns.org/DoCz/me_d/ ... roid64.irr.

I drop from way above and it hits in a strange place. Certainly no mesh there.

Again, i dont expect you to get to this any time soon, just giving feedback ;) Nice job on the position.
Brainsaw
Posts: 1176
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:57 pm
Location: Bavaria

Post by Brainsaw »

@ulao: it looks to me like the metroid64.irr is quite the same as the previous file. Maybe you should upload the sources (and maybe media) as well so that I can reproduce your problem.
Dustbin::Games on the web: https://www.dustbin-online.de/

Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
ulao
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 2:13 am

Post by ulao »

the only difference is the terrains size. If you feel so, I may try to rar it up for you. The source would be a bad idea its 20 some files and for the phys part, all it does is loads the irr. The media is 300 some, but I may be able to remove some of it you dont need. Although you dont need any of it, the terrain is just scaled mush bigger. If you dont see a problem scaling a terrain then it may be another type of problem. Maybe I linked you the same file, or it loaded from cache I'll double check on that.
Brainsaw
Posts: 1176
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:57 pm
Location: Bavaria

Post by Brainsaw »

OK ... I didn't see the different terrain size. I'll try it by modifying the original file (that you sent before) because I modified it by including models and terrain from my archive.
Dustbin::Games on the web: https://www.dustbin-online.de/

Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
link3rn3l
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 5:51 pm

Post by link3rn3l »

Excelent wrapper...!!!!



i am a newbie..

how use BSP maps with ODE?

thanks







,
Bennu (Best 2d and 3D dev-tool)
http://bennupack.blogspot.com

Pixtudio (Best 2D development tool)
http://pixtudiopack.blogspot.com

Bennu3D(3D Libs for bennu)
http://3dm8ee.blogspot.com/

Colombian Developers - Blog:
http://coldev.blogspot.com/
Brainsaw
Posts: 1176
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:57 pm
Location: Bavaria

Post by Brainsaw »

BSP maps are not yet included. For my demos I only use AnimatedMeshSceneNodes, but I think I'll add BSPs as well. I hope I find the time within the next weeks or so. The CIrrOdeGeomTrimesh would be the right place to add it I think. Should not be too difficult.
Dustbin::Games on the web: https://www.dustbin-online.de/

Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
Brainsaw
Posts: 1176
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:57 pm
Location: Bavaria

Post by Brainsaw »

I just took a look at the online API reference. I think it might already work: the "IQ3LevelMesh" is a subclass of the "IAnimatedMesh", and loading an Octtree scene node just returns an Animated Scene Node. IrrODE uses AnimatedMesh and AnimatedMeshSceneNodes to create the data necessary for the CIrrOdeGeomTrimesh class, so you could give it a try. I'll definetly try to test it next weekend.
Dustbin::Games on the web: https://www.dustbin-online.de/

Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
Post Reply