Implementing BGFX as a driver...

Discuss about anything related to the Irrlicht Engine, or read announcements about any significant features or usage changes.
christianclavet

Implementing BGFX as a driver...

Post by christianclavet »

Hi,

I've been using Irrlicht for a long time, and it's been the best engine to learn from. I'm trying to learn other engine now and they are quite difficult compared to Irrlicht. The only thing that incite me to look for something else is the rendering features (still no instancing, no working deferred system and shadowing that's too slow), little rendering problems so far (mostly issues with shaders and transparency). I really like how Irrlicht is structured, and how easy it is for me to use it.

From what I understand now, I would fit in the high level programming. Tried to grasp stuff to do low level engine programming (tried to patch myself Irrlicht for instancing and failed) and it's too hard for me. I'm a hobbyist programmer and would not like to go that deep in engine programming.

I've just stumbled on this "Cross Platform Rendering library" as BGFX (https://github.com/bkaradzic/bgfx). Contrary to Irrlicht, it's not an engine at all, but handle the low level stuff for the rendering, you can support a lot of rendering backend from a single lib, including theses ones, DirectX (up to DX12), OpenGL (3.x), Metal, GLES (3.x), and Vulkan.

I was wondering if somebody with low level engine programming experience could "plug" this inside a driver inside Irrlicht? (Like BGFX driver with backend selection (if available)).

Since there are few developers on Irrlicht, this should give a temporary solution to implement new rendering technologies into Irrlicht, before devs, are implementing their native solution. (Vulkan, metal, DX12, GL 3.x etc.) For I, this is too low level for me. If I would be able to do it myself, I would have proposed it instead. I know there is still work on FVF and other improvement to the engine...