What physics engine do you prefer and why?

Post your questions, suggestions and experiences regarding game design, integration of external libraries here. For irrEdit, irrXML and irrKlang, see the
ambiera forums
Max Power

What physics engine do you prefer and why?

Post by Max Power »

Myself, I have been using NVidia PhysX for many years. Mostly because I had read that it was the fastest at that time. Haven't really looked into Havoc, Bullet, ODE(?), Newton etc. since then and I'm wondering what people think today and what may have happened in the area. Which offers the best features (CCD, particles, non-rigid body types...) and performance?

Some things that bug me about PhysX is that it's not open-source and it's next to impossible to get some help with the engine. The forums are mostly dead and the few people who may give you answers are mostly overwhelmed with anything that's not basics.
CuteAlien
Admin

Re: What physics engine do you prefer and why?

Post by CuteAlien »

Bullet is getting extremely popular in the last years. OpenSource with nice license, lots of support, lots of features and used by many games.
IRC: #irrlicht on irc.libera.chat
Code snippet repository: https://github.com/mzeilfelder/irr-playground-micha
Free racer made with Irrlicht: http://www.irrgheist.com/hcraftsource.htm
luthyr

Post by luthyr »

We used PhysX for Octodad and have found it okay to work with, but it can be difficult figuring things out. We also ran into a fair amount of engine bugs that required different workarounds/hacks, since updating versions is often a pain. PhysX makes lots of API changes between versions.

I used Havok a bit before that and really enjoyed using it. The API felt cleaner, but we chose PhysX since it had a comparatively better license and more platform support (for indies at least).
kklouzal

Post by kklouzal »