Page 2 of 2

Re: Skined mesh - Removing mesh buffers

Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 10:29 am
by CuteAlien
@mongoose7: Thanks, I didn't know about that one :-) So yeah - there is indeed ISceneManager::createSkinnedMesh.

Re: Skined mesh - Removing mesh buffers

Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2016 1:11 am
by christianclavet
Humm. Interesting information. I want to create a new skinned mesh by adding meshbuffers inside a skinned mesh and merging the animation data and skinning...

Re: Skined mesh - Removing mesh buffers

Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2016 9:04 am
by CuteAlien
I had looked into that some more back then, but run into more problems, so I had put it aside for now. Basically there's a few problems with the finalized method (my test: https://bitbucket.org/mzeilfelder/irr-p ... ew-default). Unfortunately the ogre-mesh loader which is the one which seems to need that function most is not up-to-date (doesn't work with new ogre meshes) so I couldn't do any tests with that without fixing that one first (as I have no test-models that work). And won't get to that anytime soon (I have no clue about ogre-format... so would have to learn about that first). Cascade of problems...

So basially - finalized still needs a rewrite - but needs some more work to even get there.

Re: Skined mesh - Removing mesh buffers

Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 12:19 am
by christianclavet
Hi, Cutealien! After a quick look on your example code, I feel that it would crash as you removed all the joints from the model. Finalized is only used from the loaders when they populate the data and want to complete? Is the ogre mesh loader have bones in them (animated models).

I'm creating a patch for the skinned mesh and animated mesh node to have the node have the animation data (patch is mostly done), but I have to write an example to test it. Using the current examples it work.

Re: Skined mesh - Removing mesh buffers

Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:55 am
by Mel
Removing meshbuffers can be complex... i would go instead into a constructive way to do it, so i add meshbuffers at will from an original mesh, perhaps, and have a new mesh only with the parts i need, and then, drop the original mesh. That is if memory isn't an issue.