Bones problem in .x format

Post your questions, suggestions and experiences regarding to Image manipulation, 3d modeling and level editing for the Irrlicht engine here.
ichtyander

Bones problem in .x format

Post by ichtyander »

Greetings!

I'm working on a project that needs some simple animated characters. We have an animator that works in Maya 2010 and 2013 and I am doing scene modeling in 3ds Max 2012. The requirement is to make a workflow, getting an animated character from Maya to Irrlicht in the .x format. I should point out that I'm not really experienced in working in Maya nor doing animation of any kind so I can only relay what our animator says about the subject.

After numerous attempts to make a good exporting workflow, we tried exporting from Maya to FBX, then importing to Max (and directly to Fragmotion), exporting to .x, .b3d and .ms3d but the results were always problematic, glitchy movement, lots of trouble with making baked animation (the .x exported model isn't animated etc). The last thing we tried was using Maya 2013 to transfer to Max 2013 via direct connect. Then saving the mesh to a Max 2012 format (because of the Panda .x exporter), exporting to .x from Max 2012, then loading it in Fragmotion to check out how the .x file turned out. This seems to work very well, however there's a very weird issue. Our animator took one of our existing character meshes that was already bone rigged, made a little walking animation and we did the whole exporting procedure. The result was ok, the mesh was upside down and scaled in fragmotion (.x) but after flipping it, it was ok.

But when she took another character (all character look the same btw, they have the same mesh appearance) with an identically rigged bone structure, exported to .x and we get this:

Here's how it looks animated: