Jirr and the irrlicht_wrap

Discussion about Irrlicht's Java wrapper
dsobiera

Jirr and the irrlicht_wrap

Post by dsobiera »

I'm new to irrlicht and jirr. I am trying to get jirr to work but am having a bear of a time. I think I know the problem but cannot find the solution.

I downloaded and installed (made irrlicht.a) irrlicht 1.3.1. I downloaded and snagged jirr.jar, jirrhlng05.jar and jnewton.jar.

Now here's where it gets tricky. I am running linux.

So I need (I assume) to find to find irrlicht_wrap.so. (or .a). But I don't see anything like this in the 3 packages I downloaded (jirr, jirr-src and irrlicht). I do see dlls for Windows in

jirr-1.3.1/bin/irrlicht_wrap.dll
jirr-1.3.1/bin/irrklang_wrap.dll

But no Linux libraries. Could some kind soul point me to where I would find or create these?

Thanks!
dsobiera

Re: Jirr and the irrlicht_wrap

Post by dsobiera »

I got a little farther as I found this page:

https://sourceforge.net/cvs/?group_id=112018

So I connected cd'd into $HOME/src/irrlicht-1.3/source

I then issued:

Code: Select all

cvs -z3 -d:pserver:anonymous@jirr.cvs.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/jirr co -P jirr-dev
it checked out okay and now I have a directory called jirr-dev

In there is a file called readme.txt with the following:

Important: Please use swig 1324 and Makefile1324 if you do need callbacks. Newer versions (including 1.3.31) will produce incorrect code. here   resulting in occasional crashes.
The current and released builds still depend on Makefile1324.

But be aware: swig1324 also needs patching to make everything work as in the binaries! YOu have to update two files. Otherwise there will be errors on make time and some new features will disappear. These files can be found in patchSwig/1324

Lib\java\arrays_java.i
Lib\java\enums.swg

Simply take them and overwrite the old ones in your swih installation (you may backup your files if wanted). 
enums.swg will force you to add