Instancing

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
smkzi

Instancing

Post by smkzi »

Hello!

I am just starting out programming with c++, using Irrlicht, and with game development in general. I read some posts on the forums and visited some ancient commits on the sourceforge and github pages, particularly in the shader branch and the trunk. As far as I can tell, instancing is not supported. I am not 100% sure I understand exactly what "instancing" is, but it is apparently very useful for when you want to draw the same model (mesh,texture and material) at multiple locations.

As you can see here: https://sourceforge.net/p/irrlicht/patches/268/ , someone was apparently working on this in the shader branch about 3 years ago. Looking over the source files, the current shader branch, the trunk, my own build and the github linked there, I cannot find this IRR_ARB_INSTANCED_ARRAYS or EVD_INSTANCING anywhere in the source code, though for some reason EVDF_TEXTURE_COMPRESSED_DXT and seemingly IRR_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc survived.

Since I am a complete beginner I do not know how to write shaders (OpenGL) myself, but with geometry/instancing shaders being a solved problem, and as I understand, what is needed to tackle this, I was hoping that one of you experienced developers could aid me? If not... Could you suggest to me another approach?